When it comes to auto insurance, no two different states are the same. What happens in the state of Florida is affected by Florida car insurance laws. This may or may not be surprising to you, but these Florida laws can impact how long your repairs take and how much money you get paid after an accident.
Florida Is a No-Fault Car Insurance State
Florida is a no-fault car insurance state, which means that if you’re in an accident, your own insurance company will pay for your medical treatment and lost wages. It also means that if you get into an accident, you’re not required to pay for another person’s medical bills or property damage — as long as you carry the minimum requirements of coverage.
What is no fault car insurance?
In a no-fault state, each driver has personal injury protection (PIP) available to them through their own car insurance policy. The amount of PIP coverage varies by state, but it typically includes up to $10,000 in medical expenses and up to $5,000 in funeral costs. Your insurer will pay these benefits regardless of who was at fault in an accident. You’re not required to file a claim against another driver’s policy or make a claim against your own policy if you don’t want to; however if you do choose to make a claim against another driver’s policy, they may have the opportunity to make a claim against your policy as well — this helps keep costs down for everyone involved.
Laws for Reporting a Florida Car Accident
The Florida Automobile Insurance Plan (FAIP) requires you to report an accident to your insurance company within 30 days. Fail to comply within the said period will be at risk of claim denial
If you have no collision coverage, you should file a claim with your own auto insurance company or with the at-fault party’s insurer. If you’re at fault, you’re responsible for any damages you caused and any medical expenses incurred by others as a result of the accident.
If you’re not at fault, it’s important to notify your insurance company so they can assist in handling any claims made against you by other parties involved in the crash.
It’s also important to notify law enforcement because they’ll need to make an official report on the incident.
If someone is injured or there is property damage greater than $500, police officers are required by law to be present at the scene of an accident if requested by either party involved in the crash. If police aren’t called immediately after an accident occurs, it’s important that both parties agree on whose vehicle will be towed from the scene of the crash.
What Car Accident Losses Are Compensated In Florida?
Being involved in a car accident can be a stressful experience. Not only do you have to deal with the injuries and other physical effects of the crash, but you also have to worry about medical bills and other expenses related to the accident. The good news is that if your car accident was not your fault, then you may be entitled to compensation for your losses.
In Florida, there are several types of losses that are recoverable when an accident occurs due to another party’s negligence. For example, if you were injured in a car accident and had to miss work as a result of your injuries, then you should be able to recover lost wages from the person who caused the crash.
Other types of compensable losses include:
- Medical bills related to injuries sustained in an accident;
- Property damage sustained by your vehicle; and
- Pain and suffering endured after being injured in an accident
Florida Auto Insurance Claim Requirements
In Florida, you must file a claim with your insurance company within 30 days of the incident. This is called a notice of loss. It’s important to keep in mind that in Florida, whatever the incident is, if you don’t file this notice within 30 days, your insurance company can deny your claim altogether.
To file a claim, you’ll need to contact your agent or call the number on your insurance card. You’ll then need to provide them with as much information as possible about the accident. This may include:
- Proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL)
- The date and time of the accident
- Where it happened (street address)
- The other driver’s name, address and license plate number (if available)
- Any witnesses who saw what happened or have first-hand knowledge about what happened
If there were injuries involved with the accident, be sure to let your agent know how many people were injured and how seriously they were hurt. If possible, have medical records handy when calling so that they can take care of these details for you right away.
When To Call A Florida Insurance Claim Attorney?
Tragedy strikes in many forms and one of them is having your insured vehicle damaged or destroyed. When this occurs sometimes you have to obviously report on your insurance provider.
There will be cases where you will have conflicts in your auto insurance claim and don’t know where to turn or who to call, but you do have options, and a Florida insurance claim attorney is one of them. We will discuss the reasons why you should consider hiring a Florida insurance claim lawyer.
Insurance Claim Denial
It is very important to understand that a lawyer is an important part of the process if you are in a situation where your insurance claim has been denied. It can be frustrating to get a denial letter from an insurance company, and it can be even more frustrating to try and figure out how to respond to it.
The first thing that you need to do is make sure that you are dealing with an experienced lawyer who understands how this works. You should also make sure that they have experience dealing with insurance companies and their policies.
You are going to want to look at all of the details of your policy so that you know what is covered and what isn’t covered. The last thing that you want is for your lawyer to tell you something is covered when it really isn’t, or vice versa.
If your claim was denied because of something specific within the policy, then your lawyer will help you go through those details until they find something that will allow them to get around it or appeal it so that they can get the claim paid out correctly and on time. If there is nothing wrong with your policy, then they will help you file a lawsuit against anyone who caused the damage or accident in order for them to pay for any damages done by their negligence
Insurance Claim Appeal
Insurance companies can be tough to deal with. They often treat their customers unfairly and make it difficult for them to get the compensation they deserve. In some cases, it may be necessary for you to hire a lawyer to help you with your insurance claim appeal.
There are many reasons why hiring a lawyer can be helpful in this situation. For example, lawyers have experience dealing with insurance companies and know how best to negotiate with them on your behalf. They also know how to gather evidence that supports your case, which is crucial when appealing an insurance claim decision.
In addition, lawyers can help you build a strong case against your insurance company if they’ve acted unfairly in some way or if they’ve failed to live up to their obligations under state law or federal regulations. They can also help make sure that any settlement agreements work out in your favor.
Reading through this guide should help you understand how Florida laws may impact your claim, and the type of evidence you will need to provide in order to get the best compensation for your situation. With that in mind, you should be able to ensure that you receive the most out of any settlement and avoid having your claim denied by your insurance carrier.